adventure · camping · family · outdoor · scouts · toddler · Uncategorized

Scouting

Josh has just gone out to Scouts so I thought this would be a perfect opportunity for me to write a post on what we get up to with our Scout group.

I first started helping out with the Scout group when my mum asked me to come one night as they didn’t have enough leaders that night and I’m still there years later!  We are a bit of a Scouting family, Josh and I even met through a Scout leaders weekend!

IMG_4557

I love the adventures being a Scout leader takes us on; I have been on many weekends away camping, both indoors and outdoors, in all kinds of weather.  The weekends are amazing for the children, they get to try all sorts of activities you wouldn’t normally do.  Just this year we have been Zorbing, caving, canoeing, outdoor and indoor climbing, played lazer tag in a blow up maze in the middle of a field, air rifle shooting, taken part in archery competitions, made fires from scratch (without matches!) and many, many more.

Ellie absolutely loves being with the Scouts, she takes part in almost all activities and can’t get enough of the freedom it brings her when she goes camping.  Ellie has been camping since she was 3 months old so she is already a pro!

MOH_0718
Taking in the sights with Papa

MOH_0701

IMG_2493
First paddle in Waddecar’s stream at 3 months old

I would recommend anyone with children to find out about their local Scout group, and if they are looking for a bit of adventure themselves to ask about being a volunteer.  Who knows, you may even start your own love story!

 

Whatever the Weather Linky

5 thoughts on “Scouting

  1. That’s so lovely that you met through Scouts and fantastic that Ellie has been enjoying it in these early years of her life too. Very impressed that she’s been canoeing at 3 years old, I was wanting to take O, but thought he would be too young at 4. Might have to give it a go one day soon!
    Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Like

  2. Wow, I never realised scouts was so fun. When my little boy is old enough I am going to see if there is a group near us, he loves exploring the outdoors. I can’t imagine camping with a 3 month old, looks like you all had fun though xx #whatevertheweather

    Like

  3. Oh that’s so sweet that you met through the scouts and now you take your little one. I didn’t realise that the scouts did all of this, it sounds amazing. I might look at our little one. I love that Ellie is a camping pro. I can’t believe you first went at 3 months, that’s so impressive!!! I bet she really loves it. It sounds like you’re having some great adventures. Thank you so, so much for linking to #whatevertheweather xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

