Baking · family · Weekend

Ellie and Mummy’s weekend

Today I have had such a lovely day with Ellie.  We haven’t done anything particularly exciting or interesting, but it’s been one of those days that just makes you forget about all the other rubbish that’s going on.

This morning we baked.  We made biscuits with a recipe I used on Friday with the children in our school’s nursery, it’s so simple and quick to make (although I did manage to burn them at work!) I will leave it at the bottom of this post so you can try it for yourself.  We also made a gooey chocolate rice krispy cake, this is something we make all the time and is another really simple recipe I will leave at the end.

Ellie loves cooking, baking and pretty much anything she can get stuck into!

IMG_9390[1]IMG_9397[1]IMG_9412[1]IMG_9402[1]IMG_9407[2]IMG_9418[1]IMG_9423[1]IMG_9442[1]

IMG_9425[1]
The best part is, she always wants to wash up after herself!
IMG_9446[1]
We managed to sneak a biscuit and a piece of cake into Daddy at work!

We had a chilled dinner in front of the tv and tested some of our baking, it was yum!

We went shopping for Christmas presents but somehow only came back with a new Christmas jumper for ourselves!  I can’t wait to put our tree up on Tuesday, Ellie is so excited about all the Christmas trees popping up in the local shops and I can’t wait to see her reaction when she realises we are having one in our own home too!

IMG_9484[1]

Because our shopping trip was pretty unsuccessful, we had time to take a look at our town centre Christmas light switch on event.  The weather was rubbish but Ellie didn’t mind!  She chose a bath bomb and came home to try it out.

IMG_9460[1]

For the rest of our afternoon / early evening we played with the Brio train set.  My mum bought a toy box full of trains, brio track and buildings for Christmas last year, and I would recommend anyone with children to buy some.  Ellie loves setting the tracks up and to be fair so do I!  We made tracks for the trains, a forest and a town for the people to live in.  Toys like these are fantastic, and as they are wooden they tend to last for longer and keep their quality so any more children we may have will enjoy it too.

IMG_1986.JPG
Granny doesn’t do toy boxes by halves!

IMG_1969IMG_1977IMG_1961

I absolutely love weekends like this, spending such quality time with my girl.  I really miss spending days like this with her everyday but I do know how lucky I am to finish work at 3.30pm and have the weekends with her.

Biscuit recipe:

100g butter

50g sugar

150g flour

Mix the butter and sugar until soft then add the flour.  Bring mixture together to form a dough.  Form into dough balls and spread them out onto a baking tray.   Bake for 15-20 minutes in a pre-heated oven (180 C) or until they are a pale golden colour.  Leave to cool then decorate!

Gooey rice krispy cake bar:

This recipe is one my mum has made for years, whilst we were kids ourselves.  It’s simply made up of melted Mars bars (or similar) and Rice Krispies mixed in once the chocolate is melted.  Spread the mixture into a shallow dish and wait to set!  Ellie likes to add marshmallows and sprinkles but they are optional.

thumbnailsize

HappyDays Grab Badge_zpswzmx7jcc

Whatever the Weather Linky

5 thoughts on “Ellie and Mummy’s weekend

  1. I really love this. I have not had a day of doing whatever we liked for such a long time. I am really looking forward to school breaking up so we can have fun like this. Thanks for sharing your happy. #HappyDaysLinky x

    Like

  2. Sounds like a perfect day to me, I love it when we have an unplanned day and do lots of fun things together instead. Well done for getting out in the rain s well, kids often don’t seem to care as long as they’re well wrapped up! Love her concentration with the baking too, so sweet!
    Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Like

  3. Awww what a lovely day. I love baking with my little one. It sounds like you had lots of fun doing lots of activities. I love that you got out in the rain too. Nothing beats splashing about outside! Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

