christmas · family · Weekend

Lazy Weekend

As the title suggests, we’ve had a pretty lazy weekend which actually started on Friday this week as I was off work with a nasty stomach bug.  Although I felt awful and slept most of the day, I have to say Josh really put a smile on my poorly face when I did wake up.  I was in bed, Ellie was playing in her room and Josh had disappeared downstairs.  He came up a while later telling us both to bring a pillow and a blanket into the front room as we were going to cuddle up and watch a film, I wasn’t exactly prepared for this…

IMG_9631[1]IMG_9636[1]

He had made us a tent to climb into and even put the air bed in for us to be extra comfy in!  Things like this really mean the world to me, that bit of extra effort and a touch of crazy shows he knows me so well.  Ellie and Josh had a picnic dinner, we logged into our free trial on the new Disney Life website and settled down to watch the Incredibles.  Perfect.

I started to feel a lot better Saturday afternoon and decided to brave a trip to Botany Bay, a local 5 floor mill shopping centre, which has the most amazing Christmas themed floor.  I’m not sure words can do it much justice so I will just show you some of the many photo’s I took whilst we were there…

IMG_9651[1]
One of the members of staff was wrapping an item for a customer and asked Ellie if she wanted to pop some bubbles, she loved it!

IMG_9654[1]IMG_9658[1]IMG_9680[1]IMG_9689[1]IMG_9699[1]

If you are local to Chorley then I would definitely recommend visiting the magic that is their Christmas floor!

Saturday evening we spent with Josh’s mum and family, it was nice to have a catch up and let Ellie have a play with her Aunty Scarlett.  On the way home we had a little drive around the estates to look at the Christmas lights that people had put up.  Ellie especially liked the house which had almost the whole front lit up with different characters and lights!

Sunday has been such a lovely day, I always feel the weekend goes far too quickly when we are busy and having so much fun, but although I’ve had a really good day it’s been a long day which makes a nice change.  We started the afternoon making Christmas cards.  We have always made home made hand / foot / finger print cards since Ellie’s first Christmas at 9 months old and this year is no different!

IMG_9713[1]IMG_9716[1]IMG_9719[1]

We had so much fun and the cards look amazing I can’t wait to send them out.  Most of the designs are pinned to my Christmas board on Pinterest which you can view here.

After tea, we thought we should get some fresh air before starting bath and bedtime, so we all got wrapped up and jumped in the car.  I’ve said it before, but we are so lucky to have some fantastic parks and places to walk within driving distance.  Tonight we chose to go to the Brickcroft nature reserve in Longton.  It was a lovely little walk and took the three of us about 20 minutes, Ellie loves any excuse to put her boots on and splash in the mud, so doing it with a torch and under the stars was extra special!

IMG_9727[1]IMG_9748[1]IMG_9750[1]

So that was our lazy weekend!  When I sat down to write this I felt it had been a really chilled, lazy weekend but now I’ve finished writing it seems it’s been just as jam packed as any of our other busy weekends!  I think the difference has been we have spent a lot more time indoors, especially with me being ill, and have just taken our time and enjoyed the simple things.

Whatever the weather both small

6 thoughts on “Lazy Weekend

  1. What a lovely lazy weekend! I don’t remember the last time we had one and we really must. I love building forts, so much fun! And a walk under the stars sounds so magical!!! We did that this week to see our local lights and it made such a nice change. Thank you so much for linking up to #whatevertheweather this year and supporting our linky! We really love reading about your family adventures. I hope we see you again next year. Wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas! xx

    Like

  2. That sounds like a busy weekend rather than lazy! You packed in loads! How sweet of him to build a little fort for you, it’s not nice when you’re feeling unwell, but lovely to know that he knows you so well! I love night time walks too, we’re overdue one here, our last was to look at all the Christmas lights, I think we need to go out to look at the stars in the countryside this week. Thanks for reminding me and thank you for linking up to #Whatevertheweather this year, have a great 2016! Happy New Year! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

