Living room · Room Tour

Living room tour

I recently posted a tour of Ellie’s bedroom and was pleasantly surprised at how well it was received, so thought I’d share my living room with you as it’s the place we spend most of our time in (plus Josh is working night’s so it’s nice and tidy!).

We are currently renting so haven’t done much to the walls or decorated in any permanent sense, so have kept it quite simple and added little extra’s to show our personalities.  When we looked around this house we instantly fell in love with the wooden floors, large open fires and original features of the house.  My absolute favourite part of the living room is the fire, although the fire place isn’t necessarily what I’d choose, It’s perfect on these cold winter nights to light and get cosy on the sofa.

IMG_0091

We use lots of candles and tea lights on an evening.  I think it makes the room feel a lot warmer and cosier as it’s quite a big room, I also really like the soft glow compared to the bright lights.  We are regularly in Ikea stocking up on their scented candles like the grey one on the fire place and their tea lights for our mason style jars.

I haven’t lit a fire this evening, but if you follow me on Instagram you will see many a beautiful roaring fire photo posted!

IMG_0088

IMG_0100

In the corner of the room we have a set of wicker baskets.  The big main one is our indoor wood store for the fire, I don’t tend to have much to do with this one as my fires are never as good as Josh’s so I leave him to it!  The three on top have our computer wires, magazines, some bits for the gym and other random things that just don’t seem to have a real home.

My mum bought me the little sewing box, it’s the cutest little thing and think it goes perfectly with the style of the room.  As does the hessian canvas that I found and had to buy!

IMG_0089

I absolutely love this toy box, my mum stripped it down and re decorated it for Ellie’s second Christmas.  It has the most beautiful sayings written on it and is dusted in sparkly paint.  She filled it with wooden trains, train track, bridges and pretty much anything you need to play trains with!  The basket on top has a little Disney Frozen bowling set my dad bought for Ellie this Christmas.

IMG_0094

The tv unit was another home made project; when we bought it, it was painted and tired looking.  Josh stripped the paint and sanded the unit down to fit in with the rest of the room.  It’s very basic but does the job!

IMG_0106

Our sofa is huge!  We had the sofa in our previous house which was a maisonette, so wanted something to fit family and friends on but would also split the room into a living and dining area.  We were slightly worried when we moved here that it wouldn’t fit, but with a bit of a squeeze through the door its just about right.  If there’s one thing that I would change or buy new it would be a sofa that matches the room better, but as we are renting there’s not much point until we either buy our own house or need another one, whichever comes first.

There’s a bit of a theme running here, as this box pictured has also been stripped down and treated.  This one has Ellie’s toys in that don’t fit the boxes in the dining room.

Lastly, we have these on the windowsill.  Josh bought the Terramundi pot when we first found out we were pregnant with Ellie, I can’t bear to smash it yet!  The little milk jar has dried lavender picked from the garden and the little angel has a lovely little poem written on it.

My mum bought me the FAMILY photo holder a few years ago now for my birthday with the card pictured.  I have always loved the sparkle and words on the card so kept it on show, along with our first scan photo of Ellie and a photo of Josh and I.

So that’s our living room!  I’d love to hear what you think and if you’d like to leave a link to your own room tours I will head over and take a look, I’m always interested to see what others do with their living spaces and get ideas.

6 thoughts on “Living room tour

Leave a Reply

